Tell me the awesome things you did this year.

So, inspired by a post on xoJane (which I can no longer find, so maybe it wasn’t?), I’d like to invite you all to celebrate the awesome things you did this year. It might be a small thing, it might be a big thing, but it’s a great time to think about the cool things you did, rather than regretting the things you didn’t do.

Here are a few of my achievements this year, both personal and professional:

LISDIS! A major one, this. From idea to execution in around 8 months, I worked with the amazing Jess, Emily and Rosie to put on this awesome conference. And we’re already making bigger and better plans for next year!

Paris – I’ve been many places in the world, but had never been to Paris before I flew out on New Year’s Day 2015. It was the best way to start the new year, I had a great time and fulfilled a dream of walking down the Champs Elysees whilst listening to Les Champs-Elysees. (And have just discovered that the song will now and always remind me of that trip.)


ISEWLib – taking part in the Erasmus-funded International Library Staff Exchange Week at the University of Helsinki was one of the best experiences of my professional career, and also great personally as I met so many awesome people (and got to travel to Helsinki and Tallinn).

So, those are a few of my achievements this year – what about you?

20150609_210248

Tallinn old town, June 2015

11 Comments

  1. Hi Michelle, I hope you’ve been well.

    To answer your question, I’ve done a lot of different stuff in 2015 while studying for my Master’s in the US (I’ve been writing some of it, particularly the LIS stuff, in my blog), but in terms of ‘accomplishment’, I suppose that would be winning the Pamela Richards Memorial Scholarship, for international students and based on academic merit.

  2. What a great idea for a post! Let’s see… Well, I completed a City & Guilds Level 3 award in teaching and learning, which I’m very proud of! I got the Bonnie Hilditch International Award to attend SLA 2015 in Boston, and I spoke at a CILIP Yorkshire & Humberside/UKeIG member day (my first professional speaking thing for a very long time!)

    Ooh, and I also organised my sister’s hen weekend – very hard work, Emily I am in awe of you having organised two!!

    Here’s to a good 2016 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2015: professional development review | Organising Chaos

Leave a Reply

